Across the Sea and back again . . .

I have had the amazing privilege of traveling across the sea for the past eight weeks to see the country of Africa and the education of young children there through the eyes of two teachers and friends.  As we began this Issues and Trends class and I read about our blog assignment I must admit that I was overwhelmed at the prospect of finding international contacts to correspond with.  Then as I relaxed, it took me only a few minutes to remember one friend, an early childhood professional,  who I knew in the states for several years that had traveled back to South Africa.  Within one day, after a shout out on Facebook to my friends, I was introduced to a second educator, also in Africa, a most willing young lady who has dedicated her life in this season to children in Ghana.

As I have traveled across the sea through email and Internet and have had conversations with these incredible educators, I learned these things:

  • Educators in Africa are struggling with many of the same issues that we face in the United States
  • Educators in Africa are not giving up in light of difficulty.  They are driven by their passion for children to make a difference, speak up and out for children, and to continue investing in the lives of  these children each and every day, regardless of looming issues.
  • There are also differences, and it is important for me to regularly travel across the sea, to another state, or even just to the house next door.  Why?  To understand and to provide understanding.  To get a 360 degree view.  To get new ideas and to share my ideas.  To be infused with hope and vision.  To be encouraged and to encourage.
  • No man is an island.  We are all in this together.  I have learned that there are people in other states and  in other countries who are the same as me and who are different from me.  It is important for us all to be well-rounded and to expose ourselves to different ideas, different cultures, different methods, and different countries.

My wireless travels across the sea over the past eight weeks have inspired me.  My goal at the end of it all is to travel across the sea physically.  To go and get my own glimpse.  To go and observe.  To go and meet and share . . . to help in some measure.  I will be looking for an initial opportunity (perhaps a mission trip) to visit another country in order to get a real glimpse of the early care and education of children in a place different from the USA.  Thank you again to my precious and generous friends, Sarah & Jeanne, for giving me an incredible glimpse into the lives of early care and education of children in South Africa and Ghana.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Loreman
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 01:45:04

    Cindy,
    I love your picture! You have a unique, wonderful way of bringing print to life! You should become an author, perhaps an advocate for early childhood who uses the written word to attract peoples attention and make change!

    It is very important for all of us to become exposed to differences in the world! The world is a constantly changing place. Someday, we may have similar challenges, challenges that have already been seen, studied, and subdued in another part of the world. It is also fun, exciting, and enriching to see other parts of the world through international contacts. I have opened the eyes of my employees and the children in my care. We are enjoying the international contacts as a group. The children love the contact, have learned about different countries and cultures, and are better prepared to become global adults!

    Mary L.

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 15:19:38

    What a wonderful opportunity. I have to say I envy you I wish I could have had the personal connections and friendships develop while learning about other regions. May you reach your goal in the future and have the opportunity to travel. I hope I have the chance to continue following you.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Go the Distance . . . reflections on my travels to Belize « snapshots of a child at heart
  4. Trackback: Across the Sea and back again . . . reflections on my travels to Belize « snapshots of a child at heart

Leave a comment